1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Post Rock

Post Rock District


Post Rock Extension District

K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service. We are a partnership between Kansas State University and federal, state, and county government, with offices in every Kansas county. We conduct research through Kansas that is then shared by Extension agents and others on our Web sites and through numerous conferences, workshops, field days, publications, newsletters and more.

Our Mission

"We are dedicated to a safe, sustainable, competitive food and fiber system and to strong, healthy communities, families and youth through integrated research, analysis and education."

Our Vision

K-State Research and Extension is committed to expanding human capacity by delivering educational programs and technical information that result in improved leadership skills in the areas of communication, group dynamics, conflict resolution, issue analysis, and strategic planning that can enhance the economic viability and quality of life in communities.

Our Privacy Statement


The Post Rock District 4-H Program Internship is responsible for assisting with the planning and implementation of the Post Rock District 4-H Youth Development Program. We are looking to hire a student professional to serve through this unique role in a paid summer position. Position is open until filled. K-State Research and Extension is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

Post Rock District 4-H Program Internship Job Description

  • 4-H Program Internship – Lincoln County: Position is open until filled. Applications will not be considered after May 12, 2020. To apply, submit a cover letter and resume to Nora Rhoades, District Director and Youth Development Agent, at nrhoades@ksu.edu
  • 4-H Program Internship – Mitchell County: Position is open until filled. Applications will not be considered after May 12, 2020. To be considered, submit a cover letter and resume to Nora Rhoades, District Director and Youth Development Agent, at nrhoades@ksu.edu.


COVID-19 Continuity of Operations

March 17, 2020

To Whom It May Concern,

The Post Rock District is a dedicated team with a strong skillset, and we will continue to help you solve problems, make sound decisions, and improve quality of life!

Post Rock District programs, meetings, events, and activities will not take place in a face-to-face format, regardless of group size, until further notice. This applies to anything facilitated by staff, volunteers, partners, and directed toward KSRE target audiences. Our team will make reasonable efforts to extend the mission of KSRE to local constituents and to conduct regular business through digital delivery strategies.

Until it is safe for regular face-to-face interaction, the Post Rock District Offices will be implementing a soft closure. This means there will be no walk-in traffic to the offices, and doors will remain locked. Office visits will be granted by appointment only, with social distancing and other relevant health precautions taken into consideration. Additionally, all traffic in and out of the office will be documented, collecting names of all parties and contact phone numbers. 

Please visit the Post Rock District website at postrock.ksu.edu for local and district event updates. We are also using email, newsletters, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to keep you informed.

Contact a local office by phone to access the Post Rock District Team. While complete contact information, including staff emails, can be found at our website, our office phone numbers are:

Beloit: 785-738-3597
Lincoln: 785-524-4432
Mankato: 785-378-3174
Osborne: 785-346-2521
Smith Center: 785-282-6823

The Post Rock District Board has an approved Continuity of Operations Plan in place, and will update the plan as necessary. K-State Research and Extension is committed to the health, wellness and safety of our staff, volunteers, target audiences, and communities during this time of risk related to COVID-19.

Thank you for your cooperation,

Nora Rhoades
Post Rock District Director

COVID-19 Continuity of Operations

Events Update 3.30.2020

YOUTH LIVESTOCK EDUCATIONAL EXHIBITION: The exhibition scheduled for April 25, 2020 in Osborne, KS has been cancelled. We will look to offer a similar experience in the 2021 4-H Year. For youth and adults that submitted presentation proposals, please contact Nora Rhoades, nrhoades@ksu.edu, if you have an interest in presenting virtually.

OSBORNE COUNTY 4-H COUNCIL MARCH 30th MEETING: The Osborne County 4-H Council meeting scheduled for March 30th will be conducted via Zoom Video Conferencing. Kim Naber will contact representatives with details.

LINCOLN COUNTY 4-H SMALL ANIMAL WEIGH-IN & LIVESTOCK TAGGING: The Lincoln County 4-H Council has postponed small animal weigh-in for sheep and goats. They will reevaluate the COVID-19 situation at the April 4-H Council Meeting, to set a new weigh-in date. The weigh-in is needed for the rate-of-gain contest at the fair. Any animals that don’t get tagged and verification of ownership by May 1 cannot exhibit in the 4-H division of the fair. Tags must be picked up BY APPOINTMENT ONLY at the Lincoln Office, by April 25. Within 7 days of the tag purchase, you must submit a picture of the tag in the animal’s ear. The photo must easily identify the animal for verification purposes.

MITCHELL COUNTY SMALL ANIMAL TAGGING: Will not be having a rate of gain contest for swine, sheep, and goats. This means there is no small animal weigh-in on April 22. We will work with the 4-H families on a time that they can come to the office to pick up tags. It will likely be a few dates towards the end of April. The dates will be sent out to families enrolled in those projects.

JEWELL COUNTY SMALL ANIMAL TAGGING: Families need to plan on self-tagging their small animals and breeding stock this year. You will call the office and let us know how many tags you need for each species, and we will make an appointment time during office hours when you can pick the tags up. You will have seven days to insert the tag and send the office two pictures of the animal. One of the tag in the ear, and one of the animal for identification. This all needs to be completed before May 1st, so the tags need to be obtained before April 23.



See all events