1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Post Rock
  4. »About

Post Rock District

Beloit Office
(785) 738-3597

Lincoln Office
(785) 524-4432

Mankato Office
(785) 378-3174

Osborne Office
(785) 346-2521

Smith Center Office
(785) 282-6823

K-State Research and Extension Post Rock District

The Post Rock District is committed to help people, businesses, and communities solve problems, develop skills, and build a better future. We strive to expand human capacity by delivering educational programs and technical information that result in improved knowledge and behaviors, as well as enhance the systems and environments supporting our communities. K-State Research and Extension is focused on solving grand challenges in the state around water, health, global food systems, vitalizing communities, and developing tomorrow's leaders.

Learn more about K-State Research and Extension.

Global Challenge

Post Rock District Governance and History

K-State Research and Extension has been improving the quality of life and standard of living for Kansans for over a century. K-State Research and Extension is a partnership between Kansas State University and the federal, state, and county governments. Research completed is used by extension agents and others to help solve community issues.

This integrated system connects the university to every county through locally based educators who serve as sources of objective information.

K-State Research and Extension is a short name for Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service.

In 1991, the Kansas Legislature passed an act permitting two or more county extension councils to form a district to deliver the extension program. The first extension district in Kansas was formed in 1994.

On July 1, 1994, Post Rock District #1 was formed by merging the Lincoln County Extension Council and the Mitchell County Extension Council. On July 1, 2005, Jewell and Osborne Counties joined the District. On July 1, 2012 Smith County joined the Post Rock District, expanding the service area to five counties in North Central Kansas. The K-State Research and Extension Post Rock District offices are located in Beloit, Lincoln, Mankato, Osborne, and Smith Center.

Post Rock District has a twenty-member governing board, represented by four board members from each county in the District. Board members are elected in an election conducted by the County Clerk in each county. The District Governing Board, in partnership with the K-State Research and Extension Regional Director, is responsible for leading the local educational program and developing the budget in the District.