1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Post Rock
  4. »4-H Youth Development
  5. »Join 4-H

Post Rock District

How does 4-H work?

Join a club!

4-H clubs generally meet monthly, and nearly every community in Kansas has at least one. These meetings give youth opportunities to share their project work (speak), plan community service activities, and practice running meetings. They have many ‘sub-clubs’ for individual projects, led by adults or teens within the club. For specialized projects like shooting sports, many counties have county-wide project clubs that operate in a similar fashion.

The 4-H year runs from October 2, 2017 thru September 30th, 2018

Enroll in 4-H online
Instructions to Enroll
Instructions to Re-enroll

The network of families that grows great kids

Raising great kids is a challenging task, but it’s easier when you have a team of people behind you. 4-H clubs are groups of families that do just that. Through working together, families share knowledge and interests to help kids learn practical skills and important values.

Undertake projects

Members choose from a wide range of individual projects, based on their interests and the availability of a knowledgeable adult in the community to serve as a mentor/leader (matching facilitated through clubs). Through these projects, members set goals, learn the skills needed to achieve goals, and exhibit/demonstrate their skills at events like county fairs, speaking contests and other competitions.

A list of projects can be found at http://www.kansas4-h.org/projects/.

Age to Join

4-H had its beginnings in rural America, but it now serves youth in urban and suburban as well as rural communities. Kansas 4-H is open to youth between the ages of 7 and 19. The new 4-H year starts in October, so many prefer to join 4-H at the start of the school year. 4-H enrollment, however, is open year round, so youth can join any time. In order to show at the county fair you must be enrolled by May 1.

4-H Clubs in the Post Rock District

Jewell County
  • Mankato Eager Beavers
  • Webber Wide Awake
Osborne County
  • Solomon Valley 4-H Club (mostly Downs members)
  • Sunflower 4-H Club (mostly Osborne members)
  • Summer 4-H Club (mostly Alton members)
  • Eager Beavers 4-H Club (mostly Natoma members)
Lincoln County
  • Salt Creek
  • Jr. Sunflower
  • Bullfoot Creek/Sylvan Hustlers
  • Hometown Helpers
Mitchell County
  • Asherville Achievers
  • West Beloit
  • Tipton
  • Cloverleaf
Smith County
  • Busy Bees (Kensington)
  • Heart of America (Smith Center)
  • Solomon Valley Beavers (Gaylord)


Aliesa Woods
District Extension Director
4-H Program Coordinator
Lincoln Office
Phone: (785) 524-4432

Daphne Manning
4-H Program Coordinator
Mankato Office
Phone: (785) 378-3174

Risa Overmiller
4-H Program Coordinator
Smith Center Office
Phone: (785) 282-6823

Kim Naber
4-H Program Coordinator
Osborne Office
Phone: (785) 346-2521